1. Home
  2. Docs
  3. Glossary
  4. C
  5. Contention type

Contention type

Contention type designates a technical area where the process is spending most of its time.

Contention types are set on the operations through their type attribute.
There can be multiple contention types within one analyzed stack.
Contention types do follow the operation declaration order : the first identified one will therefore be considered as the main contention.

A set of contention types is provided in standard :

  • Synchro
  • Queue
  • Task delegation
  • Database
  • Oracle
  • DB2
  • MySQL
  • File
  • Class loader
  • Log
  • Resource pool
  • Network
  • Crypto
  • Collection
  • String
  • Random generation
  • Exception
  • Code locked
  • Code execution
  • Waiting
  • Listening
  • Timed waiting
  • Blocked

The last five are thread states and are used by default when no contention type is found. Code locked is linked to Locker analysis patterns.